The 7 Chakras: A Beginner’s Guide

Most people wish to feel healthy and connected to the world. When we feel confident, we tend to be more patient and stable in our relationships. When our chakras are aligned, maintaining a sense of peace and balance is possible.

There are seven chakras, and these are divided into the upper and lower chakras.

When you practice self-care and keep these chakras in alignment, you have a sense of balance and well-being.

When one of more chakras are out of alignment, it can impact your physical and emotional wellbeing.

7 chakras of the body explained

1. Root Chakra

The root chakra is your foundation as it is located at the bottom of the spine.

This chakra is your connection to the earth. When you absorb the energy through this chakra, you connect to the stability of the earth.

If your root chakra is unbalanced, you may feel anger or insecurity. Also, because this chakra controls our financial security and other needs necessary for survival, it is vital to keep this foundational chakra balanced.

2. Sacral Chakra

The sacral chakra is just below the navel and it is where you hold your desires and the ability to create beauty.

If you are feeling out of control and having trouble adapting to change, your sacral chakra may need balancing.

This chakra is the element of water, and water moves around obstacles.

When the sacral chakra is balanced, you move around the challenges in your life like water and find a new path without absorbing negativity.

3. Solar Plexus Chakra

The solar plexus chakra is just below the heart in the upper abdomen, and it is the chakra that gives you self-confidence and motivation.

If you are feeling fragile or depressed, you may need to balance your solar plexus chakra.

This chakra gives you the personal power to seize your day and maintain stable relationships with both yourself and others.

4. Heart Chakra

The heart chakra is your center, and it connects the emotional lower and spiritual upper chakras, and it is responsible for feelings of love and compassion.

This chakra is the center of the chest and is the element of air.

If this chakra is out of balance, you may feel lonely or dealing with fears of abandonment.

5. Throat Chakra

The throat chakra handles your reason and voice. This chakra gives you the ability to voice your truth and express who you are to the world.

If you are feeling fear of speaking out, your throat chakra may be out of balance.

With your throat chakra in balance, your ability to express yourself will improve.

6. Third Eye Chakra

If your third eye chakra is located between the eyes on the forehead, and if unbalanced, you may feel afraid or not assertive.

With this chakra in balance, you have a sense of being unafraid and in charge of your destiny because you can minimize distractions and focus. This chakra is the source of your intuition and wisdom.

7. Crown Chakra

The crown chakra is at the top of your head and is your connection to the universe. If you feel isolated and disconnected, your crown chakra may need balancing.

With your crown chakra in balance, you feel the flow of energy through your body and a sense of spiritual peace.

Beginners guide to 7 chakras

It is worth the investment of time to work with your chakras to keep them both balanced and clear.

For more information on how to balance your chakras, check out this video.

By doing so, you become physically and emotionally healthier as you walk away from old patterns of thinking and embrace who you are meant to become.

Featured image:
Activedia, Pixabay